a lesson learned.

Sitting at the table that night I beamed with pride over the delicious dish I was serving. Only 2 short years and two babies into our marriage I was placing on the table a dish I was sure was going to please, delight and be enjoyable to the Lead and I was excited.

Back then I read recipe books like novels, circling ones I wanted to try and planning many meals over the course of the days to ultimately shop for, prepare and then serve to my little family. I was the sole person to cook mainly because l I didn’t work outside the home. Home was my job and I took it very seriously. The Lead would come home night after night to a homemade meal and I was living the dream of being able to frugally prepare a meal for him. I was so proud.

It was on this night that I made manicotti for the first time. Setting it on the table I remember I was hungry and tired from the hard work it took to prepare this meal. Have you ever stuffed manicotti shells?

IMG_1872

It was on this night 10 minutes after serving this manicotti to the love of my life I would be finding myself at a drive up pay phone calling my mother bawling for the first time ever over the events that had just transpired.

She told me to leave him that night.

I didn’t of course listen to my mother that night.

22 years later and I still haven’t cooked manicotti for him.

 

Leave a comment